France Football has unveiled the details of the votes of 176 journalists from all over the world who elected the Ballon d’or attributed Monday to Lionel Messi. Second in the standings, Virgil van Dijk was more often placed first than the Argentinean.

Lionel Messi picked up the sixth Gold Ball of his career on Monday. The Argentinean finished first with just seven more points (686 to 679) than its first runner, Virgil van Dijk. This classification was determined according to the votes of 176 journalists from around the world (one representative per country) establishing a Top 5. The five players mentioned are respectively assigned 6 points (for the first), 4, 3, 2 and 1.

Africa voted Messi

So Liverpool’s defenseman came close. He was even placed first (69 times) more often than the Argentinean (61). Dutch was popular in Europe and Asia, where he came first in the points standings ahead of Messi (231-194 in Europe, 155-134 in Asia). In contrast, the Pulga received more votes in South America (47-39), North America and the Caribbean (102-86) and Oceania (22-14). Even Africa, which had two serious contenders (Manรฉ and Salah), placed Messi in the lead (187) ahead of Manรฉ (170) and Van Dijk (154).

Skipped twice first

While many voices were offended by the absence of the Senegalese international from the podium, it was not supported by the African continent. He still came first 17 times, as many as Cristiano Ronaldo, 3rd. the name of Mohamed Salah a was mentioned to him at the top. Kylian Mbappรฉ, 7th, took the lead twice (Kyrgyzstan, Slovenia), as did Robert Lewandowski (Germany, Poland) and Alisson Becker (Guatemala and Cรดte d’ivoire).

Alexander Arnold first in Sri Lanka

More surprisingly, Trent Alexander-Arnold got first place in the Sri Lankan journalist vote (he didn’t give any points to the top-7 players in the final standings). Joao Felix, Marquinhos and Donny van de Beek received no points.

The Top 10 of the Ballon d’or

1 – Lionel Messi 686 points
2 – Virgil van Dijk 679
3 – Cristiano Ronaldo 476
4 – Sadio Manรฉ 347
5 – Mohamed Salah 178
6 – Kylian Mbappรฉ 89
7 – Alisson 67
8 – Robert Lewandowski 44
9 – Bernardo Silva 41
10-Riyadh Mahrez 33